“I see the Benoits as illuminators. Their monastic work corrects and repairs a fault of disaffection against magisterial nature which surrounds us, against the fabulous animals that live there, against our own humanity when it renounces the best of itself. As a child, little Gisèle dreamed of wolves not in fear, but in deepest wonder. She held to her dream, and the wolves thanked her very much.” 

Serge Bouchard
Writer and anthropologist
Excerpt from the book FRISSON SACRÉ du monde sauvage

Portrait of a family like no other

Gisèle Benoit

Now hailed as an ambassador of the wild and awakener of conscience, Gisèle Benoit has been observing Canadian wildlife since 1977. She communicates her ecological message by painting, writing and making documentary films. She has also written memoirs, lectured and acted as a consultant in various projects related to nature.

Raynald and Monique Benoit

Wildlife conservation has always been at the heart of Gisèle’s concerns. She shares her passion with her parents. Her mother, Monique Blaquière-Benoit, is a wildlife artist and naturalist, while her father, Raynald Benoit, excels as a filmmaker and producer of documentaries that have become classics. The Benoit family forms a team entirely dedicated to the protection of nature.

In the Company of Moose

In 1979, the Benoits discover the Gaspésie National Park, in eastern Québec. There, Gisèle begins her unique research on moose behaviour that will make her famous around the world.

 

“She started living near moose, like Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey with monkeys and gorillas”, writes Louise Cousineau in La Presse after the broadcast of Raynald’s first professional documentary: In the Company of Moose.

Exceptional birds

In 1995, the second documentary directed by Gisèle Benoit and her family, The Grouse: An Exceptional Bird, astonishes the public as much as the specialists. It wins the Grand Prize of the XIe Festival international du film ornithologique de Ménigoute (France). Widely distributed throughout the world, this documentary even serves as a reference at a symposium gathering of 1000 specialists on birds, under the auspices of the National Museum of Natural History of Paris.

A dream comes true

In 2001, Gisèle and her parents make a dream come true: to establish their own Wildlife Study Centre and live at least six months a year at a base camp, in the heart of the northern Ontario forest, far from modern comforts.

 

Then, the family testifies to its experience in the Wild by producing new documentaries and thematic exhibitions.

Technique, objectives and warning

Gisèle, Monique and Raynald Benoit are not biologists. They rather define themselves as self-taught naturalists, always eager to learn and to push the limits of their knowledge. Greatly inspired by Grey Owl, Jane Goodall and Konrad Lorenz, they favour passive observation as well as experimentation, which means direct contact with their subjects in the wild.

 

This kind of approach sometimes leads them to encounter wild animals in close proximity where competence and wisdom are required, and even indispensable, to ensure their safety and that of the wildlife. In their publications, the Benoits warn people against the temptation of imitating their techniques or approaching wild animals, as they allow themselves to do within the very strict framework of their study projects.

One Passion: animal behaviour studies

Gisèle and her parents work in a little explored field of the natural sciences: the study of animal behaviour in the wild, including sound and gestural communication among birds and mammals, as well as interactions between species… captivating subjects that are challenging.

 

There are reasons why many behavioural studies take place in enclosures: in nature, the difficulties are so numerous and the work so demanding that most researchers, limited by time, prefer to observe their subjects in a semi-free context.

Photo 9 Une passion l’étude du comportement animal

One Mission

Studies conducted by the Benoit family are not requested by government departments, conservation parks or organizations, nor are they funded by public money. They result only from the will of their authors, who ensure their smooth running and funding through their publications, which are not conventional.

 

They can take the form of a painting exhibition, a video production, a memoir, a conference or a book. In each case, they combine art and science to move, to raise awareness and to educate the public about the importance of protecting biodiversity. Since 2008, the Society of Art and Science for Nature, of which the Benoits are co-founders, helps to support their educational mission by diffusing their studies’ results on a large scale.​

 

The artistic, literary and cinematographic works of the Benoit family touch people and inspire respect for nature through the new vision they offer, and also through the sensitivity and originality that characterize them. They bear a vision, a hope based on an authentic human experience. This philosophical and spiritual dimension gives added value to the accomplishments of Monique, Raynald and Gisèle.

bg7

The Benoits, defenders of the Wild

Understanding the role and life cycle of a species in an ecosystem is of paramount importance in order to adopt effective conservation measures. Very critical about wildlife management in Québec and Canada, the Benoits fight against the anthropocentric philosophy guiding the majority of decision-makers.

 

Indifference, economic interests and prejudices often hamper the protection of nature. With brushes, a camera and a lot of passion, the Benoits invite each individual to renew his or her sacred ties to nature. This site offers the opportunity to discover the unique work of these ambassadors of the Wild.

Participate in our mission!

It is now possible for you to participate in our educational mission and in the production of our future web-series on the wolf.

error: Le contenu est protégé

« Je vois les Benoit comme des enlumineurs. Leur travail monastique corrige et répare une faute de désamour envers la nature magistrale qui nous entoure, envers les animaux fabuleux qui y vivent, envers notre propre humanité lorsqu’elle renonce au meilleur d’elle-même. Enfant, la petite Gisèle rêvait des loups, non pas dans la peur, mais dans l’émerveillement le plus profond. Elle a tenu à son rêve, et les loups l’en remercient, beaucoup. »

Serge Bouchard
Écrivain et anthropologue
Extrait de la préface du livre FRISSON SACRÉ du monde sauvage

Portrait d’une famille pas comme les autres

Gisèle Benoit

Aujourd’hui saluée comme une ambassadrice du monde sauvage et une éveilleuse de conscience, Gisèle Benoit observe la faune canadienne depuis 1977. C’est par la peinture, l’écriture et la réalisation de films documentaires qu’elle communique son message écologique. Elle a également rédigé des mémoires, donné plusieurs conférences et agi comme consultante dans divers projets de mise en valeur de la nature.

Raynald et Monique Benoit

La conservation de la faune a toujours été au cœur des préoccupations de Gisèle, qui partage sa passion avec ses parents : sa mère, Monique Blaquière-Benoit, est peintre et naturaliste, tandis que son père, Raynald Benoit, s’illustre comme cinéaste et producteur de reportages devenus des classiques. La famille Benoit forme une équipe entièrement dévouée à la sauvegarde du monde sauvage.

En Compagnie des Orignaux

En 1979, le trio Benoit découvre le parc national de la Gaspésie, dans l’est du Québec. Gisèle entame alors les recherches inédites sur le comportement de l’orignal qui la rendront célèbre à travers le monde.

 

« Elle a commencé à vivre près des orignaux, comme Jane Goodall et Dian Fossey avec les singes et les gorilles », écrit Louise Cousineau dans La Presse lors de la télédiffusion du premier documentaire professionnel tourné par Raynald : En Compagnie des Orignaux.

Tétras et Gélinottes

En 1995, le second documentaire réalisé par Gisèle Benoit et les siens, Des oiseaux pas comme les autres, étonne le public tout autant que les spécialistes; il remporte le Grand Prix du XIe Festival international du film ornithologique de Ménigoute (France). Largement distribué à travers le monde, ce documentaire sert même de référence lors d’un colloque réunissant 1000 spécialistes sur les oiseaux, sous l’égide du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle de Paris.

L’aventure
d’une vie

En 2001, Gisèle et ses parents concrétisent un rêve : fonder leur propre centre d’étude sur la faune boréale en milieu sauvage et vivre au moins six mois par année dans un camp de base, au cœur de la forêt nord-ontarienne, loin du confort moderne.

 

D’autres documentaires et des expositions thématiques viennent alors témoigner de leur vécu au sein du monde sauvage.

Technique, objectifs et
mise en garde

​Gisèle, Monique et Raynald Benoit ne sont pas biologistes. Ils se définissent plutôt comme des naturalistes autodidactes, toujours avides d’apprendre et de repousser les limites du savoir. Grandement inspirés par Grey Owl, Jane Goodall et Konrad Lorenz, ils favorisent aussi bien l’observation passive que l’expérimentation, c’est-à-dire le contact direct avec leurs sujets en liberté.

 

Ce genre de démarche les amène quelquefois à côtoyer des animaux sauvages dans un contexte de proximité où la compétence et la sagesse sont requises, voire indispensables, pour assurer leur sécurité et celle de la faune. Dans leurs publications, les Benoit déconseillent d’ailleurs à quiconque d’imiter leurs techniques ou d’approcher les animaux sauvages comme ils se permettent de le faire, dans le cadre très strict de leurs projets d’étude.

Une passion : l’étude du comportement animal

Gisèle et ses parents œuvrent dans un domaine peu exploré des sciences naturelles : l’étude du comportement animal en milieu sauvage, incluant la communication sonore et gestuelle chez les oiseaux et les mammifères, ainsi que les interactions entre les espèces. Des sujets captivants qui prennent l’allure de défis.

 

Ce n’est pas pour rien que beaucoup d’études comportementales se déroulent en enclos! Dans la nature, les difficultés sont si nombreuses et le travail si exigeant que la plupart des chercheurs, limités par le temps, optent pour l’observation de sujets en semi-liberté.

Photo 9 Une passion l’étude du comportement animal

La mission

Les études effectuées par la famille Benoit ne sont pas demandées par des ministères, des parcs de conservation ou des organismes, ni financées avec des fonds publics. Elles naissent uniquement de la volonté de leurs auteurs qui en assurent le bon déroulement et le financement grâce à leurs publications.

 

Ces dernières n’ont d’ailleurs rien de conventionnel. Elles peuvent prendre la forme d’une exposition de tableaux, d’une production vidéo, d’un mémoire, d’une conférence ou d’un livre. Dans chaque cas, elles marient l’art et la science afin d’émouvoir, de sensibiliser et d’éduquer le public à l’importance de protéger la biodiversité. Depuis 2008, la Société Art et Science pour la Nature, dont les Benoit sont cofondateurs, contribue à soutenir leur mission éducative en diffusant leurs résultats d’étude à grande échelle.​

 

Par le regard nouveau qu’elles proposent, par la sensibilité, l’originalité et le vécu qui les caractérisent, les œuvres artistiques, littéraires et cinématographiques de la famille Benoit touchent les gens et inspirent le respect de la nature. Elles sont porteuses d’une vision, d’une espérance fondée sur une expérience humaine authentique. Cette dimension philosophique et spirituelle confère une plus-value aux réalisations de Monique, Raynald et Gisèle.

bg7

Les Benoit, défenseurs du monde sauvage

Comprendre le rôle et le cycle de vie d’une espèce dans un écosystème donné est d’une importance capitale pour lui assurer des mesures de conservation efficaces. Très critiques de la gestion de la faune au Québec et au Canada, les Benoit luttent contre la philosophie anthropocentrique guidant une majorité de décideurs.

 

L’indifférence, les intérêts économiques et les préjugés font souvent obstacle à la protection de la nature. Avec des pinceaux, une caméra et beaucoup de passion, les Benoit invitent chaque individu à renouer des liens sacrés avec la nature. Ce site offre la possibilité de découvrir l’œuvre unique de ces ambassadeurs du monde sauvage.

Participez à notre mission!

Il vous est maintenant possible de participer à notre mission éducative et à la production de notre future websérie sur le loup.

error: Le contenu est protégé